★ ąяţǥąʍ€$ ★
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Optimism Bias - A Red Faction Guerrilla machinima series

2 posters

Go down

Optimism Bias - A Red Faction Guerrilla machinima series Empty Optimism Bias - A Red Faction Guerrilla machinima series

Post by AndrewGoodnight Wed Nov 18, 2015 11:46 pm

Hey folks, here is a link to the trailer for the machinima animated show I've been releasing on YouTube. You can watch the episodes on my channel.

To give you a bit of info on it, my background is in live action filmmaking, and a very live action approach was taken to make this show. I wrote directed and edited it, and worked closely with a very talented live action cinematographer in pre-production to do location scouting in game levels, choreograph the action, make camera maps, and create a shot list based on the script so we knew exactly what coverage we needed when it came to shooting time.

Voice Over recording was done prior to the shoots because we needed the dialogue for timing whilst doing the puppetry of all the characters. We did research with a number of different types of game controllers including gamepads, joysticks, mice and keyboards in order to mimic different types of live action camera moves like jib arms, crane shots, dolly shots etc. We also used a variety of different types of controllers for the puppetry of the characters. Often times a body actor would have a game pad in one hand using an analogue stick to accurately control how fast they are walking, but using a mouse in their other hand to look around and do more subtle head movements for conversation.